Top Ten Tuesday: Book Characters That Would Be Sitting At My Lunch Table

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish that I love to do on here, and this week’s topic is Top Ten Book Characters That Would Be Sitting At My Lunch Table. Are we going back to high school this week? Cringe. The idea did scare me a bit at first, even after so many years out of there, but then I realized that I got to imagine sitting at the lunch table with some of my favorite book characters! Books made everything better back then.

Although there are a lot of characters that I’d love to be real and be my friend, I’m going to be honest with myself and only have a select few here. I would probably never actually sit with a group of 10 people at any given time, unless it’s a family dinner or someone forced me to interact with a group that large.

  • Jessica Darling (Jessica Darling series by Megan McCafferty) – My book BFF for all of high school and some of college, I have to have Jessica at the top of this list. If there’s anyone in literature who I truly relate to, it’s Jessica. I’ve mentioned before how much this series means to me, so she was the first character to come to mind. Marcus would also be free to sit with us at any time.
  • Rose Hathaway (Vampire Academy, Bloodlines series by Richelle Mead) – Because sometimes a girl needs a kick ass friend to take care of the rumors and rude people. I think that Rose is just an amazingly strong girl and I could have learned a thing or two from someone like that. I’d probably refrain from punching people, though. Lissa is welcome as well!
  • Cather “Cath” Avery (Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell)- I would have loved to have a friend in high school who was into fandoms as much as I was. No matter how many times I tried to explain it to people, they just didn’t get it. She may prefer going on the internet and being friends with her internet friends instead of actually hanging out, but that’s okay because I understand that completely. Social anxiety is not fun and we all need an escape.

I’d be perfectly fine with these ladies making up my little group of lunch buddies.

Honorable Mentions (A.K.A. the people who would probably have been too cool to sit at my lunch table, or they just fit in better elsewhere): Adrian Ivashkov, Four, Veronica Mars, Wren Avery, and Becky Bloomwood.

If anyone reading this is going back to school or is already back for the semester/school year, good luck! I hope it’s an amazing time for you and the best one yet.

Leave a Reply

