What I Read in August

After a month of not posting, I almost forgot how to start a post on here! The past couple of months have been very slow for me as far as reading goes and busy in other ways, so I took a break to try to read and focus on some real life things for a while. My last post was what I read in June and July, and I had only read 4 books in those two months. Thankfully August was a lot better. My reading is still a little slow, but I read more leisurely and I think that’s helping me get over this little reading slump. As always, these are in alphabetical order by the author’s last name.

August 2014

theborgiaapocalypse carrie lastsacrifice rebel
The Borgia Apocalypse: The Screenplay by Neil Jordan (3 stars)
Carrie by Stephen King (4 stars)
Last Sacrifice (Vampire Academy, #6) by Richelle Mead (4 stars)
Rebel (Reboot, #2) by Amy Tintera (4 stars)

I love historical television shows and I watched the entirety of The Borgias in about a week. Since it was cancelled before its 4th season, the creator wrote a 2-hour movie that Showtime decided not to produce which he then published as The Borgias Apocalypse. I read some reviews on the screenplay and had come to the conclusion that I wasn’t going to read it, but then my sister bought it for herself and lent me the e-book. Considering I didn’t think I would like it at all, I was really surprised that I thought it was good enough to give a 3-star rating. I can understand some of the 1 and 2-star ratings that other people have given it, but it’s less than 200 pages, and approximately 2 hours on screen isn’t always enough time for for relationship or character development for the finale of a television show when you also have to focus on history and a family like the Borgias. Overall,  I thought it was an okay wrap-up of the series and enjoyed it a lot more than I thought I would. It’s hard to say that I recommend it to fans of the show, though, because I didn’t feel the same connection to the characters while reading the script as I did while watching the show.

Carrie was a surprise pick, but I’d never read a Stephen King novel and I was looking for something relatively short to read last week. What better to choose than his debut novel and a classic of the horror genre. This one gets a 4-star rating from me because I loved the way it was set up and, although I don’t think it was scary now, I do find telekinesis to be a pretty frightening idea. If you’ve never read it but you enjoy horror movies or books, give it and the movie a try. I’d already seen the movie years ago, but I rewatched it after I read the book (thank you, Netflix) and I think they’re a nice set, though I do prefer the book. I plan on reading some more of Stephen King’s books now.

I finally finished the Vampire Academy series! This was such a bittersweet moment as I fell in love with this world and the characters (Rose is now one of my favorites ever), but I’m so happy I made it through the series without being spoiled. I was a little worried about that, so I tried to read the books as close together as possible even while wanting to space them out so I could make them last even longer. Although I gave a few of the books 4 stars, I have to give the entire series a 5-star rating. What can I even say about it that I haven’t mentioned before? Maybe I can write a series review/discussion post on it sometime soon, if I ever find the words for it. I’m not sure if I’ll be reading Bloodlines anytime soon, but perhaps when that series is also complete, I will give it a go.

Another series I finished was the Reboot series by Amy Tintera which has been on my to read list for a while. I loved Reboot, and Rebel was a wonderful follow-up to that book. It reminded me a lot of the final two books in the Delirium series and that’s a good thing to me. There were a couple of things I would have loved to further explore, like Wren’s childhood, but it wasn’t necessary. There are some new characters in this one and I loved learning about other reboots. Spoiler: It’s narrated by Wren and Callum this time. That was an awesome decision by Tintera.

As of now, I’ve read 26 books in 2014 and my Goodreads goal is 30. Maybe in September I’ll meet that goal.

Leave a Reply

