Top Ten Tuesday: Eight Classics I Want To Read and Two Favorites

For this week’s Top Ten Tuesday, the topic is Top Ten Favorite Classic Books or Top Ten Classics I Want To Read. I decided to separate this post in two lists, one of the classics I’d like to read and a shorter one of a couple of favorites. Several of the books in the list of books I’d like to read would be rereads, but it has either been a long time since I read them or I read them for school and feel I wasn’t able to enjoy them as a reader.

Top Eight Classics I Want To Read

littlewomen thehandmaidstale prideandprejudice wutheringheights
lordoftheflies dracula misspettigrewlivesforaday thepictureofdoriangray

Little Women by Louisa May Alcott
The Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood
Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen
Wuthering Heights by Emily Bronte
Lord of the Flies by William Golding
Dracula
 by Bram Stoker
Miss Pettigrew Lives For A Day by Winifred Watson
The Picture of Dorian Gray by Oscar Wilde

Little Women was never required reading for me in school, though in my Children’s Literature class in college we did talk about it and watched part of the 90s movie. In the case of The Handmaid’s Tale, I’ve picked it up and started it a few times without being able to really get into the book. I’d love to reread Pride and Prejudice and Wuthering Heights as I read them in high school for summer reading and I probably didn’t give them as much attention as I would today. And I cannot believe that I’ve never read Lord of the Flies. Considering it’s such a well known book, it’s a surprise that it was never required reading in any of my literature classes. I read Dracula in both high school and in college, but I’d also like to give it more of time since I really enjoy vampire stories. The Picture of Dorian Gray is another book I read in college that I have been wanting to reread for the past few years.

Two Favorite Classics

theoutsiders thecatcherintherye

The Outsiders by S.E. Hinton
The Catcher in the Rye by J.D. Salinger

It was a little difficult for me to make a list of favorite classics, which saddens me, partly because I’m a state away from my bookcase right now and I haven’t read many lately. I decided to include two that I’ve reread several times each. The Outsiders was a book I had to read and write a book report on in middle school. I fell in love with this book then and I’ve read it two or three more times as I’ve gotten older. It was always amazing to me that S.E. Hinton wrote this book as a teenager. I still have the same copy that I read for the first time and I love that I’ve kept it for all these years. Then there’s The Catcher in the Rye, another book that I read when I was a teenager (though it was not required reading at my school and possibly one that wasn’t allowed anywhere near us). People either love or hate this book, and I happen to be one of the people who loved it when I read it and I’ve read it countless times since the first time I opened it. Like with The Outsiders, I still have my first copy of the book, and I’ve also bought several editions of it. It’s that book for me. It has been a few years since I’ve read it, so I need to get to that soon.

On the topic of favorite books that you’ve reread or want to reread, does anyone else ever worry that they won’t feel the same way about the book? That happens to me every time I decided to pick a book up for the second time or if it has been years.

Are there any classics you want to read? Any favorites you have to recommend?

4 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Eight Classics I Want To Read and Two Favorites

  1. I love Pride & Prejudice, and have re-read it and read far too many sequels and spin-offs. I need to read Wuthering Heights, but the characters sound so unlikable I’m afraid it may be added to the list of Classics I Don’t Like, I Don’t Care What You Say.

    • I’ve wanted to really sit down and read Pride & Prejudice for years because I love “chick lit” and so much that I’ve read has been inspired by it. It’s only right that I read it! As far as Wuthering Heights is concerned, I remember several people hating the characters when we studied it in high school. That’s something I hear a lot. I’m not sure if I’ll like them or not (I can’t remember what I thought back then), but maybe I can go into it a little blindly without reading a summary again or any reviews. Thanks for the comment!

    • It’s so awesome that she wrote it that young and it’s such a classic. It’s a great book. It was one of the few books in school that I read and enjoyed instead of feeling forced into it.

Leave a Reply

