Top Ten Tuesday: Cover Trends

This week’s Top Ten Tuesday topic from The Broke and the Bookish is Ten Book Cover Trends I Like/Dislike. Since I wasn’t sure if I’d be able to think of 10, I decided to go with 2 trends that I like and chose 5 covers for both category.

The Dress

everneath thejewel thewinnerscurse aliceinzombieland innocenttraitor

This might have been a little obvious in another Top Ten Tuesday post that I did last month. I know that a lot of people don’t like this one, but there is something about a dress, especially one that’s fluffy, that just catches my eye. Most of the time the dresses make no sense for the actual book, depending on the setting, but they’re just so pretty. Honestly, if there’s a dress on the cover, I’ll probably pick up the book and find out what it’s about.

No People

thebodyfinder dontyouforgetaboutme thechapelwars attachments rebel

These are covers that don’t include people, but they also aren’t only text. There’s something about these that also tend to catch my eye. I’d say they’re all pretty special in their simplicity. The one for (Don’t You) Forget About Me is lovely and more intricate than the others, though. I also love the one for The Chapel Wars.

What do you think about these trends? Are there any trends you like or dislike?

4 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Cover Trends

    • I agree. Sometimes having a person on the cover can really work for the book, or just make a pretty cover, but I do think that simple covers can be nicer. I guess it depends on the book.

Leave a Reply

