Life of a Blogger: Collections

Life of a Blogger is a weekly feature hosted by Novel Heartbeat that allows bloggers to post about something not related to books so readers can get to know them. This is the first time I’ve participated and I thought it was a great topic.

This week’s topic is, as the post title says, collections. I have a few small collections. I find it a little bit difficult to collect things as I’m a bit of a “neat freak,” but that’s why I organize it and store everything in its own special container.

Stickers
stickers
I love a good sticker. When GetGlue was still GetGlue and sent out physical copies of the stickers you earned for watching something and checking in, I loved to get those! They’re the bulk of my collection and the only ones pictured here. Some of them I turned into magnets because magnets are also great and that was one way to not completely ruin the “value” of the sticker. Others that I have were mostly freebies or ones that I decided to buy for cards. I also have a sticker maker that I’ve had since middle school, but I rarely use it.

Bookmarks
bookmarks
This is a small collection at the moment, but I have several bookmarks that I’ve had since I was in elementary school. How I didn’t lose those is a complete mystery. A lot of them were free from the library or book store, but I do have a few that I’ve bought over the years. Slightly related to books, but it’s not a book. 😉 My favorite is either my signed Megan McCafferty one or the hand painted one that my sister brought me from Mexico.

Shells
shells
As I haven’t been to the beach very much in my life, this is a collection that is mostly a decorative piece. My nephew brought me some shells from vacation and I brought home some from my own and put them all in a jar with some sand. I’m sure I’ll have more to add to that this summer from family and, whenever I get to go to the beach next, I’ll pick up some myself.

If I ever start another collection, I would like to get more gems and stones.

Do you collect anything?

14 thoughts on “Life of a Blogger: Collections

  1. That’s a lot of stickers! I used to have a whole bunch that you get from those coin machines. You know what I mean? When you were in middle school and you would beg your parents for 50 cents to get a sticker out of the machine? Those are gone now.
    My Life of a Blogger post is HERE. 🙂

    • Thankfully my sticker obsession isn’t too bad anymore. I don’t really buy them much anymore unless they’re for my niece and nephew. That’s always fun. I’m constantly wondering what to do with my stickers (other than just leaving them in a box) and assorted swag. Thanks for stopping by! 🙂

  2. I found out about GetGlue only after they stopped sending stickers, It’s so cool that you were able to get some. Bookmarks are so awesome, I love how eye-catching most of them are. These are awesome collections! 🙂

    • Thank you! GetGlue was so fun, especially because the stickers were free and eventually they began letting you pick and choose which ones you wanted to be sent. I wish they still did that. Bookmarks are probably my favorite of my collections. I just love a good bookmark. 🙂

  3. Oh, wow, that’s great. Maybe when they got popular, they couldn’t afford to send stickers out for free to everyone any more! Haha.
    For sure and you have a bookmark I’m super jealous of; the penguin one! 🙂 I really need to get myself one because I love penguins. You have a lot of animal ones, they are so cute! 🙂

    • That’s definitely possible. They didn’t really get much out of sending free stickers, I’m sure. The small penguin? That is one of my favorite bookmarks. A friend sent that to me about 7 years ago, and the other one was a free one from the library an even longer time ago. Penguins are my favorite, though. It’s hard not to pick up everything that has one on it.

      • Ya, probably not, most likely just more fans which is always good too.

        Oh, wow, I didn’t even notice the small one. I have one exactly like that! I meant the bigger one, It’s so cute. I know what you mean, I always want more. I have 3 different kind of penguin one’s (including the small one) but they are either too big or too small or aren’t the flat kind so I don’t really use them because I usually lose my page, which sucks!

      • Yes, the bigger one was one I picked up at the library several years ago. I think it may have been to encourage parents to read to their kids, but it had a penguin on it. How could I not pick one up for myself? I know what you mean about some of the bookmarks not working very well, though. There are really only a few that I use regularly.

Leave a Reply

