Top Ten Tuesday: Books That Will Be In My Beach Bag This Summer

This week’s Top Ten Tuesday hosted by The Broke and the Bookish is about summer reads. There were two choices for this week’s theme (Top Ten Books That Should Be In Your Beach Bag or Ten Books That Will Be In My Beach Bag This Summer), and I decided to go with the second one. Most of the beaches near me are hours away, but summer reading is always exciting. No matter where I go this summer for 4th of July and other days out of town, these are some of the books I plan to read in the coming months. There’s no guarantee that I’ll actually read all of them, but in a perfect reading world, these are the books I choose for the summer.

bitten whathappenedtogoodbye deepblue mylifenextdoor rebelebelle pushingthelimits cinder theartoflainey veronicamars rebel

Bitten by Kelley Armstrong – Surprisingly this is the only adult book on this list, but I’ve been wanting to read this since I finished the Darkness Rising series. The show could be good summer viewing as well.
What Happened to Goodbye by Sarah Dessen – One of the few Dessen books that I’ve never read. I’m going to blame that on my being in my second to last semester of college at the time. Sarah Dessen has been one of my favorite authors for years, though, and I can’t wait to read this.
Deep Blue by Jennifer Donnelly – It’s mermaids! I’ve never read anything about mermaids that I can remember. This will be a little different for me and I think that will be fun. Maybe it will end up being a favorite.
My Life Next Door by Huntley Fitzpatrick – The summary of this makes me think I’m going to love it, and I really hope I’m right. This is one that I would have bought for myself without even looking at reviews.
Rebel Belle by Rachel Hawkins – I cannot wait to read this book! I’ve read a lot of reviews on this one and I have a feeling that it may be the perfect summer read. Not to mention, that cover is beautiful.
Pushing the Limits by Katie McGarry – A book that I’ve had for a bit and have been saving for the summer. From what I understand about McGarry’s writing, this could be one of those books that keeps me up at night wanting to read more and more and more.
Cinder by Marissa Meyer – This book has been on my to-read list on Goodreads for months. I’ve seen it at the library, seen it at the store, and I’m constantly seeing people talk about it on blogs and social media. Why haven’t I picked it up? I have no clue, but it’s being picked up this summer.
The Art of Lainey by Paula Stokes – Honestly, I’ve only read the summary for this one about twice, but I don’t have to know anything else about it before I read it. I have a feeling this one is going to be a great read.
The Thousand-Dollar Tan Line by Rob Thomas and Jennifer Graham – I was one of those Veronica Mars viewers that ended up giving up the show in the third season, and then the movie came out this year. Ever since then, my love for the show and the characters and the stories and Logan and Veronica has come back full force.
Rebel by Amy Tintera – Reboot is one of my favorite books that I’ve read this year. I can’t wait to find out what happens next and finish out the story. Hopefully I can get my hands on this one very soon and jump back into that world.

As a bonus, I will hopefully be reading 4-6 of the Vampire Academy series.

Do you have any summer reads you’re looking forward to or suggest?

14 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Books That Will Be In My Beach Bag This Summer

    • I’ve heard really great things about Cinder and the next books. I can’t wait to read them. Oh yeah, I am loving the Vampire Academy series. I finished Shadow Kiss last weekend and it was so amazing! It is well on its way to being a favorite series. Thanks for the comment!

  1. What a great list! Rebel Belle and Cinder are two books I really want to read this summer as well. And enjoy What Happened to Goodbye! It is one of my favorite Sarah Dessen books!

    • Thank you! Hopefully I can get around to Rebel Belle and Cinder soon. They seem so interesting. I love Sarah Dessen! My favorite is probably Along for the Ride or Just Listen. Such great books.

    • Thanks! I’ve never read anything by Rachel Hawkins either, but I’ve seen Hex Hall around for a few years. Maybe I’ll check those books out one day as well, but I’m going to try to read Rebel Belle soon. Cinder sounds so different. I don’t think I’ve ever read anything like it.

    • I saw the first 3 episodes of the show and I really enjoyed it. I thought I should probably read the first book before I continued, though. Who knows if I can hold out that long. Hopefully we both get to read Rebel soon!

  2. Thousand Dollar Tan Line was an awesome continuation of the movie! And I second you on Season Three, it just wasn’t the same quality as the first two. I quit midway through it and don’t feel like I really missed out on anything important before seeing the movie! VMars is still awesome though, enjoy the book! 😀 I have a copy of Rebel Belle sitting around that I really need to get to soon. Great list!

    My TTT:

    http://diamondinroughcoal.blogspot.com/2014/06/top-ten-tuesday-19-beach-bag-reads.html

    • Yeah, the third season just wasn’t the same. I agree with you, though. I don’t feel like I missed out on anything that I needed to know in the movie. They focused a lot on the first two seasons aside from a couple of things, and I loved that! Thank you! I cannot wait to get to that book. I’ll check out your list. 🙂

  3. […] A local thrift store I go to was having a 99 cents sale if the item had a certain colored sticker, so that’s when I picked up the Friend Me collection and Twenties Girl. I’ve heard of the Mates, Dates series and I thought that was a wonderful deal for 3 books. It’s possible I end up passing it on to someone I know will enjoy it more and won’t mind that there are a ton of books in this series (Yikes! I need to start perusing Goodreads while I’m shopping.). This store has had Twenties Girl there for a few months. It’s a book I’ve read and enjoyed, but I wasn’t sure if I really needed to add it to my collection since it wasn’t something I plan on rereading anytime soon. For 99 cents, though, I couldn’t help but finally pick it up. How was it still there? It’s Sophie Kinsella! And while Bitten wasn’t part of the sale, $2 was a good deal considering I’ve been wanting to pick it up for some summer reading. […]

Leave a Reply

