What I Read in May

Here is what I read in the month of May. These are in alphabetical order by the author’s last name.

May 2014

thelookingglass overyou shadowkiss

The Looking Glass by Jessica Arnold (3 stars)
Over You by Emma McLaughlin and Nicola Kraus (4 stars)
Shadow Kiss (Vampire Academy, #3) by Richelle Mead (5 stars)

annaandthefrenchkiss reboot

Anna and the French Kiss (Anna and the French Kiss, #1) by Stephanie Perkins (4 stars)
Reboot (Reboot, #1) by Amy Tintera (5 stars)

In last month’s What I Read post, I mentioned that I wanted to read more standalone novels in May. Looking at this (short) list, I think I did a pretty good job there. The Looking Glass was another book that pulled me in with its Alice in Wonderland inspired title, so I liked the references and the overall story kept me intrigued, but it didn’t win me over the way I thought it would. Over You has been on my bookcase for the past two years and I’m glad I finally got to it. It was a fun read. And although Anna and the French Kiss is part of a series, I’ve seen that it can be considered a standalone as well, so I’m going to count it as one. I have a little more of my thoughts on it here.

As far as a favorite book of the month, Reboot wins! I can’t wait to get my hands on Rebel. Okay, and Shadow Kiss is by far the best of the Vampire Academy series that I’ve read. 5 stars to both!

A reading goal I have in June is to pick one or two books that have been on my bookcase for a while and finally read them. They deserve some love too. Other than that, I don’t have anything I plan to read, but my to read list is long enough to give me a lot of ideas.

What did you read in May?

Leave a Reply

