WWW Wednesdays #1

www
WWW Wednesday is hosted by ShouldBeReading.

To participate in this, you just have to answer these three questions:
• What are you currently reading?
• What did you recently finish reading?
• What do you think you’ll read next?


What are you currently reading?
shadowkiss

For the past couple of days, I’ve been reading Shadow Kiss (Vampire Academy, #3) by Richelle Mead. I don’t know how this series got past me when it was first released, but I’m so glad I finally decided to pick it up from the library a couple of months ago. So far, I’m loving these characters and this world. The Dhampirs, Moroi, and Strigoi threw me off for a little bit in the first book because I’d never read anything about any of those creatures, just the more traditional vampires really, but I’ve come to enjoy that part a lot. Rose is also a wonderful main character. Lissa and Christian and Demetri are all great characters, too. The entire world that Mead has created in these books is one I’ve loved reading and I can’t to find out what happens next! I’ve somehow not been spoiled for this series, so fingers crossed that I don’t have that problem while I continue to read these books.

What did you recently finish reading?
annaandthefrenchkiss

Anna and the French Kiss (Anna and the French Kiss, #1) by Stephanie Perkins is a book that I have had on my TBR list for over a year, so I finally grabbed a copy and sat down with it last week. I love the way Perkins presents the boarding school, but I found myself not loving the romantic development in the book. That being said, Anna did get a lot of points from me for her film love. She reminded me a lot of myself in high school with that as well as her “neat freak” tendencies, two things I greatly relate to. Something I enjoyed the most was that the author gave even the minor characters their own personalities and interests that the readers learn, but I wished there had been more of them and not just Anna and St. Clair. I understand that it’s mostly a romance, though. I will pick up the next two books eventually because I thought the writing was great, and the boarding school was really fun.

What do you think you’ll read next?
bloodpromise eleanor&park

Depending on how much I enjoy Shadow Kiss and if I want to jump into the next book right away, Blood Promise (Vampire Academy, #4) by Richelle Mead may be the book I read next.

Another option since I currently have this checked out from the library is Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell. This is another one that I’ve had on my TBR list for months. Fangirl was a 5-star book for me last year and I’ve been extremely excited to read another one of Rainbow Rowell’s books. I’m not sure if I can love anything the way I loved Fangirl, but I’m willing to give it a shot.

One thought on “WWW Wednesdays #1

  1. […] In last month’s What I Read post, I mentioned that I wanted to read more standalone novels in May. Looking at this (short) list, I think I did a pretty good job there. The Looking Glass was another book that pulled me in with its Alice in Wonderland inspired title, so I liked the references and the overall story kept me intrigued, but it didn’t win me over the way I thought it would. Over You has been on my bookcase for the past two years and I’m glad I finally got to it. It was a fun read. And although Anna and the French Kiss is part of a series, I’ve seen that it can be considered a standalone as well, so I’m going to count it as one. I have a little more of my thoughts on it here. […]

Leave a Reply

