Top Ten Tuesday: Books I Almost Put Down But Didn’t

This week’s Top Ten Tuesday (hosted by The Broke and the Bookish) is about those books that you almost put down, but continued to read anyway. For me, I usually finish a book if I start it, but there are a few that I was seriously tempted to put down and not pick  up again. Then there are the ones that I almost put down for reasons that had very little to do with the book. For this list, I only have 6 books. I had a pretty hard time with this one because I do usually tough it out without even thinking about putting down a book, but some of these were the ones I remember having second thoughts about finishing.

iheartnewyork mockingjay thelookingglass pandemonium sweetevil sweetperil

I Heart New York by Lindsey Kelk – I started this book around Christmas and was so caught up in the holiday that I had to put it back for a little while. I didn’t love it, but it was still enjoyable.
Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins – I actually did put this one down for quite a while since I was busy with school at the time, and I wouldn’t be upset if I hadn’t picked it back up. Final books in series can be a bit tricky, but this one just wasn’t what I was expecting after the first two amazing books.
The Looking Glass by Jessica Arnold – I was really excited about this book because I am a sucker for almost anything related to Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland, but it took me way longer to read it than I’m used to, and the pacing was really off to me.
Pandemonium by Lauren Oliver – A book I almost put down due to lack of time, but I ended up loving it. This Deliruim series is one of my favorite series.
Sweet Evil by Wendy Higgins – These books have an excellent rating on Goodreads, but I just could not get into it. I liked some parts, but most of it was a total letdown for me and the characters and I just didn’t connect.
Sweet Peril by Wendy Higgins – And yet I read the second book. I will not be reading the final book because after my experience with the first two. Maybe the angel plot isn’t for me.

Leave a Reply

