What I Read in April

I’ve seen a few bloggers post at the beginning of each month a summary of what they’d read or reviewed during the previous one, so I decided to make a post of my own as an extra way to keep up with my reading. It also seemed like a great first post for this blog. These are in alphabetical order by the author’s last name.

April 2014

thecalling therising redatnigt

The Calling (Darkness Rising, #2) by Kelley Armstrong (5 stars)
The Rising (Darkness Rising, #3) by Kelley Armstrong (4 stars)
Red at Night by Katie McGarry (3 stars)

frostbite destiny throughthezombieglass
Frostbite (Vampire Academy, #2) by Richelle Mead (4 stars)
Destiny (Brightest Kind of Darkness, #3) by P.T. Michelle (4 stars)
Through the Zombie Glass (White Rabbit Chronicles, #2) by Gena Showalter (4 stars)

I also began Reboot by Amy Tintera as part of Epic Reads’ Re-Read-A-Thon. This is my first time reading it, but it has been a wonderful read and I already can’t wait to read Rebel.

Looking back at the month, it’s obvious that a large majority of my reads are series. That’s something that I hope to read less of during May and June. I will be trying to read more standalone novels soon, though my current library loans are all series, so that may be a little difficult… I’ll be back in June to see the progress I make with that and also share the ratings of whatever I read. Those can also be found on my Goodreads account.

If I had to pick a favorite of the month, I would choose The Calling and The Rising. I’d never read anything by Kelley Armstrong until I started the Darkness Rising series, and I know that I should have done better research on that as I found out between books 2 and 3 that it’s a sequel series to the Darkest Powers series. I was a little upset with myself when I found out, but I think the books are extremely easy to read as their own series. More of her books are now on my to read list, including the Darkest Powers series. Saving that for sometime in the next few months.

What was your favorite book of the month of April?

One thought on “What I Read in April

Leave a Reply

